Teen undeterred by rare disorder – Marfan Syndrome

Nothing is going to cramp Brittany Glassey’s style, not even a potentially dangerous genetic condition.

The 16-year-old Lincoln High School pupil has the rare genetic disorder Marfan Syndrome, which affects about one in 3000 to 5000 people worldwide.

Brittany GlasseyThe condition is not easily identified and sometimes people have no idea they have it until something happens. It affects connective tissue and can lead to problems in the heart, eyes, bones or nervous system.

However, Glassey refuses to let it hold her back from doing what she loves, which is designing and creating art, particularly fashion.

“It’s not really a big problem to me, personally. Maybe some people might find it difficult. I don’t think it does affect my quality of life. My condition won’t hold me back,” she said.

“I haven’t been able to do really hardcore sports, but everything I have ever wanted to do ever since I was young was to be creative, so it hasn’t affected me personally. I use it to my benefit, like using it to do more with my creativity.”

Designing clothes has been something she has been doing from an early age.

“I used to make clothes for my dolls with the sewing machine at home, but I never really got back into it when I got older. I wanted to do a bit more last year in textiles class and I really enjoyed it, so I’ve been making dresses and things ever since.”

Read More: The Press

One thought on “Teen undeterred by rare disorder – Marfan Syndrome

  1. Pingback: | Marfan syndrome engineer fixes own heart to save his life + 40 others! | | truthaholics

Leave a Reply

